Fire Department

The Kinkora and Area Volunteer Fire Department was established in 1957. The Fire Department is comprised of 30 members which include a Fire Chief, and 2 Deputy Chiefs. It is currently led under the leadership of Chief Johnny Dugay.

The fire department has five pieces of apparatus including 2 pumpers, 1 tanker, 1 rescue, and 1 half-ton quick response vehicle.

The coverage area for the fire department includes the municipalities of Kinkora, and Bedeque as well as the unincorporated areas of Shamrock, Middleton, Newton, South Freetown, Central Bedeque, Lower Bedeque, Fernwood, Rose Valley, Maple Plains and Chelton.

They also have mutual aid agreements with the neighboring departments of Borden-Carleton, Crapaud, and Kensington, to provide services as needed.

Those interested in joining the fire department should reach out to the fire department directly. Applicants should be a minimum of 19 years of age, reside within the Kinkora & Area coverage district (unless otherwise approved), and be able to pass a criminal record check. The department currently trains on Monday evenings.

In the event of an emergency please call 911.

Burning Information: The municipality currently does not have a burning bylaw. For those wanting to burn brush or debris, please check the fire restrictions page from Forestry, Fish, and Wildlife division.

Kinkora Fire District Map

Facebook Page

Contact Information: